Applying and References

For a new adult joining scouts you will need to collect two references. Referees should preferably have knowledge of your work or contact with young people and/or should be able to comment on your character and relationships with others. Referees must not be relatives: at least one of the referees should have known you for at least five years and one of the referees must not be from Scouting. 

Use the link or QR code below to access the e-form to provide details of your two referees and the appointments team will do the rest.

Click here to provide adult referees

Do you want to take a group away on camp?

You will need to submit a nights away notice (NAN). You will need to provide a copy of your programme, some details of where you are heading to, who will be attending and a copy of your risk assessment/s. Please give as much notice as you can to allow the team to check you have everything you need for a safe and enjoyable camp.

Use the link or the QR code below to access the e-form

Click here to access the NAN e-form

Do you need a camp permit?

In order to take a group away on camp you will need to have a permit. If yours is about to expire or you would like to apply for a new permit then please use the following QR code or link, which will take you to the e-form

Click here to access the permit application form

Training

Everyone who volunteers with Scouts agrees to complete training suitable for whatever role they are doing.  Everyone must complete module 1module 2module 3 and GDPR training.

All training in Scouts has to be validated by a Training Advisor, (if you don’t know who your Training Advisor is, ask your Group Scout Leader).  Your Training Advisor is there to support you in all of your training.

You will need to make sure you refresh your Safety and Safeguarding training at last every fivey years. Depending on your role, there are other modules you may need to complete, all of the information can be found here. If you prefer to learn on courses, there are excellent small group courses being held throughout the year, find out more in the latest Training Brochure

In addition to the above we ask that all adults hold a valid first aid certificate. All adults need to complete a minimum of six hours training and this can be split in to Module 10a and Module 10b. If you need to refresh your fist aid training then head to the county website to see a list of available training sessions,  reach out to your Training advisor or speak with a member of the district team

Who’s who

Rachel Wallace, Abigail McMillan and Cath Thomas are Team DC, sharing the District Commissioner role: teamdc@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Jacqui Boden, District President jacqui.boden@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Thelma Kettle, District Vice President thelma.kettle@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Joe Suffield, District Chair  joe.suffield@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Chris Brammeier, Deputy District Commissioner chris.brammeier@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Brian Lewis, Deputy District Commissioner brian.lewis@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Gemma Dixon, District Treasurer gemma.dixon@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Tom Oldershaw, District Secretary tom.oldershaw@revalleyscouts.org.uk

Helen Phelps, Assistant District Commissioner (Beavers) helen.phelps@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Simon Sharpe, Assistant District Commissioner (Cubs) simon.sharpe@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Steve Prescott, Assistant District Commissioner (Scouts) steve.prescott@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Ben Wilding, District Explorer Scout Commissioner ben.wilding@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

TBA, District Scout Network Commissioner 

Angie Mills-Cooper, Local Training Manager angiemillscooper@birminghamscouts.org.uk

Resources – Documents & Links

The Joining Process for Adults in Scouts

Acronyms and Meanings

Application form for leader uniform grant

Application form for leader uniform grant – Guidance Notes

Covid-19 restarting face to face Scouting risk assessment

Annual Report from 2021 AGM http://bit.ly/RV_Report20

Calendars