Most Useful
  • Applying and references: You need to collect two references: Referees should preferably have knowledge of your work or contact with young people and/or should be able to comment on your character and relationships with others. Referees must not be relatives: at least one of the referees should have known you for at least five years and one of the referees must not be from Scouting. Examples of referees include employers, college tutors etc.  Use this word document which you will need to email back to references@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

  • Training: everyone who volunteers with Scouts agrees to complete training suitable for whatever role they are doing.  Everyone must complete module 1, module 2, module 3 and GDPR training. All training in Scouts has to be validated by a Training Advisor, (if you don’t know who your Training Advisor is, ask your Group Scout Leader).  Your Training Advisor is there to support you in all of your training. You will need to make sure you refresh your Safety and Safeguarding training at least every five years. Depending on your role, there are other modules you may need to complete, all the information can be found here. If you prefer to learn on courses, there are excellent small group courses being held throughout the year, find out more in the latest Training Brochure
Resources – Documents

Reference Form

Request References Compass Guideline

The Joining Process for Adults in Scouts

Acronyms and Meanings

Nights Away process information

Nights Away Notification

Nights Away Permit Application Form

Resources – Links

Resources – Useful People

Rachel Wallace, District Commissioner rachel.wallace@reavalleyscouts.org.uk
Russell Woodhall, District Chair russell.woodhall@reavalleyscouts.org.uk
Abigail McMillan, Deputy District Commissioner abigail.mcmillan@reavalleyscouts.org.uk
Cath Thomas, Deputy District Commissioner cath.thomas@reavalleyscouts.org.uk
Chris Wallace, Deputy District Commissioner chris.wallace@reavalleyscouts.org.uk
Gemma Dixon, District Treasurer gemma.dixon@reavalleyscouts.org.uk
Vacant, District Secretary

Joe Farley, Assistant District Commissioner (Beavers) joe.farley@reavalleyscouts.org.uk
Vacant, Assistant District Commissioner (Cubs)
Steve Prescott, Assistant District Commissioner (Scouts) steve.prescott@reavalleyscouts.org.uk
Ben Wilding, District Explorer Scout Commissioner ben.wilding@reavalleyscouts.org.uk
Daisy Partlow, District Scout Network Commissioner daisy.partlow@reavalleyscouts.org.uk

Vacant, Local Training Manager

Who’s Who

Calendars